Frugal Gourmet

A thoughtful and tasteful homemade gift can take a lot of the pressure off your wallet and make those on the receiving end feel a little less pressure about how much they may or may not have spent on you this year.  I have several friends and family members struggling to find work.  The last thing they need is a lavish gift to make them feel inadequate and unable to return the favor.

One of my favorites is flavored olive oil.

First, start with a nice, high quality extra virgin olive oil.

My favorite oil infuser herbs are garlic, dried chili peppers, rosemary & thyme.  Use one, use some or use all.

Crush the garlic, but don’t chop it.  I find the chopped garlic gets bitter.

Stick the herbs in an appropriate jar…mine are recycled from previous olive oils I purchased.

Add oil.

Tah dah!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment